Astha Astrology

Vimshottari Dasha

The most important and widely used dasha system is the Vimshottari dasha, which is a cycle of 120 years based on the maximum possible life span for an individual.Each of the seven planets and the two lunar nodes (making the nine navagraha) has its own period or mahadasha in the cycle.The Vimshottari dasha is linked to the system of nakshatras or lunar mansions by the fact that each of the navagraha is the lord (or ruler) of three of the twenty seven nakshatras (3 x 9),which together with the position of the moon,determine how the system operates.
The order and times of the mahadashas are shown in the following table:




17 years

Ketu (South node)

7 years


20 years


6 years


10 years


7 years

Rahu (North node)

18 years


16 years


19 years

Note:- Rashis where Ketu is considered debilitated are Gemini & Taurus & is have exalted in Rahu,Scorpio & Sagittarius.

Free Astrology

Budha Antardasha | Chandra Antardasha| Guru Antardasha| Jupiter Antardasha| Mangal Antardasha | Mars Antardasha | Moon Antardasha | Rahu Antardasha | Saturn Antardasha | Shani Antardasha | Shukra Antardasha | Sun Antardasha | Surya Antardasha | Venus Antardasha |

Jupiter / Guru Mahadasha | Ketu Mahadasha | Mars Mahadasha | Mercury / Buddha Mahadasha | Moon Mahadasha | Rahu Mahadasha | Saturn / Shani Mahadasha | Sun Mahadasha | Venus / Shukra Mahadasha |